Vice Chancellor

Vice Chancellor

Prof. Sat Prakash Bansal
Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor
Central University of Himachal Pradesh

Prof. (Dr.) Sat Prakash Bansal, An Academician par Excellence and A Man of Substance, joined Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala as Vice Chancellor on 28th July 2021. In addition to this prestigious assignment, he is currently also acting as Vice Chancellor of Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla.

He has been former Vice-Chancellor of Himachal Pradesh Technical University, Hamirpur; Indira Gandhi State University, Rewari; Bhagat Phool Singh Mahila Vishwavidaylya, Khanpur Kalan, Sonepat & founder Vice-Chancellor of Maharaja Agrasen University, Solan, HP.

Apart from these major responsibilities, he also holds responsibility as Chancellor Nominee, Academic Planning Board of Gurugram University, Gurugram; Governing Council Member of Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla; Court Member in Sri Aniruddhadeva Sports University, Chabua; Planning Board Member, Shri Vishwakarma Skill University, Dudhola, Palwal Gurugram; Executive Council Member of MDU, Rohtak; Chairperson, All India Board of Tourism and Hospitality, AICTE, New Delhi; Visitor’s Nominee of Central University, Tejpur; Board of Governors of IITTM, Ministry of Tourism, Govt. of India; Board of Governors of IIM Amritsar; Expert Member Maharashtra RUSA Education Council; Higher Education Council Member of Himachal Pradesh; Chancellor Nominated Member of Executive Council- Gurugram University, Gurugram; Member Planning Board of YMCA Haryana; State Technical University, Faridabad; Executive Body Member, AIIMS, Bilaspur; Advisor and Visiting Professor, University of European Tourism (UET) Italia, Miano, Europe.

He is also the Chief Editor and Editor of various International and National Journals of repute along with newsletters of different Universities, completed 11 research projects of National Importance and authored 25 books. He remained Principal Investigator for e- PG Pathshala in Management (1.05 Cr) and in Tourism and Hospitality (1.12 Cr) which are functional under Centrally sponsored schemes of National Mission on Education through ICT (NMEICT) of UGC, MHRD (GOI) for developing 600 and 640 modules in Management, Tourism and Hospitality respectively.

Being the leader of various professional bodies and administrative positions, he has vast experience in different capacities viz. Founder SAARC President, Tourism and Hospitality Educators and Researchers Association of ASIAN Countries(THERAA); President, Indian Tourism & Hospitality Congress (ITHC); Joint Secretary, Professors Forum of India; former founder Chairman & Director, Institute of Vocational (Tourism) Studies, Deptt of Tourism(MTA), H.P. University; Dean Students Welfare, H.P. University; Director, Institute of Integrated Himalayan Studies (Centre of Excellence), H.P University; Director (Nominated)-Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation, Government of Himachal Pradesh. Such experience has enabled him to gain credibility, vision and intellectual depth to interact with all the stakeholders and levels of society. He is also associated with various top level academic bodies of the country such as; UGC, AICTE, NAAC, NCERT and Ministry of Tourism as an expert member and involved in almost every decision making process.

His experience of visiting to more than 25 countries on various academic assignments has bestowed him with new insights of various international standards of excellence and the best practices the world is practicing for improving the standards of Higher Education. He has written about 90 research papers and had an opportunity to guide 21 research scholars of Ph.D. programme. He also remained a key person in facilitating Memorandum of Understanding between the organization where he has rendered services and Universities of International repute such as MOUs signed in between Atai State Agarian University, Atai State Technical University, Russia, Leciester University, UK, Ghana Technical University, Ghana, Auburn University, USA, Indiana University, Pennysylvania (US) to promote International understanding.

He is popularly known as ‘Institutional Builder’ across academia. He has become a pioneer in initiating the work of setting-up of permanent campus of Central University of Himachal Pradesh which was long pending for past 11 years. He has been a frontleader in implementing various recommendations of NEP-2020 across various parts of the country. He has a vast experience in assessing and accreditation of HEIs as a Chairman / Coordinator / Member of NAAC peer team.

His knowledge of internal university administration and productivity assessment, along with experience to liaise with business and the corporate world while ensuring the academic mission of the University remain his highest priority. His work has been appreciated by conferring various awards upon him. Few of such prestigious awards are;

  • Best Teacher Award of HPU-2012
  • Letter of Appreciation from H.E. Governor of Himachal Pradesh for preparing HPU Vision Document-2020 and promoting International Understanding.
  • Life Time Achievement Award-2013 in Management Excellence by Himachal Pradesh Commerce and Management Association
  • PCMA Award of Excellence in Education-2015 for Outstanding Contribution in Commerce, Tourism and Management by Punjab Commerce and Management Association, Citation in Honour -2015 for Outstanding Contribution in Tourism Education and Research by University of Rajasthan, Jaipur
  • Life Time Achievement Award -2015 in Tourism Education Excellence by Lyceum of Philippines University, Manila
  • Best Educationist Award-2020 by Himotkarsh Parishad, Himachal Pradesh.
  • Most Iconic Vice Chancellor Award-2021.
  • Golden AIM Award by Synergic Business Solutions.
  • Global Excellence Award for Outstanding Academic Leaders-2021 by Global Chamber of Consumer Rights.
  • Malviya Pragya Samman-2022 by BHU, Varanasi.