

Central University of Himachal Pradesh (ESTABLISHED UNDER CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES ACT 2009) Dharamshala, Himachal



Pradesh-176215

### **NAAC Criterion-I**

Key Indicator – 1.2.1

#### Approved Minutes of relevant BOS meeting highlighting the introduction of new Courses

**1.2.1 Evidences** 



**Department of Political Science** 

Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala,

Kangra



### Central University of Himachal Pradesh (ESTABLISHED UNDER CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES ACT 2009)

Dharamshala, Himachal



Pradesh-176215

#### INDEX **Department of Political Science**

S. No.	DESCRIPTION	Agenda item	Page No.
1	Approved Minutes of the 3 <sup>rd</sup> BOS meeting highlighting the introduction of new courses in M A Programme (2019-21 batch and 2020-22 batch), Ph.D. Course work and certificate course. dated 23/02/2021.	Agenda item no. 1, agenda item no, 2 and agenda item no.3.	1-4



row

Central University of Dimachal Pradesh हिमाचल प्रदेश केन्द्रीय विश्वविद्यालय सप्त सिंधु परिसर देहरा, ज़िला कॉंगड़ा, हिमाचल प्रदेश - 177101

Dated: 23.02.2021

### **Department of Political Science**

# Minutes of the 3rd Board of StudiesMeeting held on 23 February 2021

The 3<sup>rd</sup> Meeting of Board of Studies (BoS), Department of Political Science, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala, was convened on 23.02. 2021 at 3.00 p.m., in the Temporary Academic Building, Sapt Sindhu Parisar, Dehra Campus.

The following members were present in the meeting:

Sl. No.	Name	
1.	Dr. Jagmeet Bawa, Head, Department of Political Science Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	Chairman & Convenor
2.	Prof. Pawan Kr. Sharma, Head, Department of Political Science, Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut, Uttar Pradesh	External Expert& Member
3.	Prof. Narayan Singh Rao, Department of History, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala & Dean, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	VC Nominee
4.	Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Assistant Professor, Centre for Deen Dayal Upadhyay Studies, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	VC Nominee
5.	Dr. Jyoti, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	Member
6.	Dr. Arundhati Sharma, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	Member
7.	Dr. Vimal Kr. Kashyap, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	Member
8.	Ms. Aaradhana Singh, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamshala.	Member

# The following members could not attend the meeting:

Prof. Ram Singh Arha, Professor, Department of Political Science, Jai Narayan Vyas University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan [External Expert & Member]

# The agenda of the meeting was as follows:

- Approval of the Skeleton/Syllabus of M.A Programme (2019-21 batch & 2020-22 batch)
- 2. Approval of the Skeleton/Syllabus of Ph.D. Programme.
- 3. Approval of the Skeleton/Syllabus of Certificate Course.
- 4. Any items/issues raised with the permission of the Chair.

### Decisions taken by the members of BoS in the meeting

- The BoS discussed and approved the syllabus of M.A. Programme (2019-21) in Political Science with the following suggestions:
  - A. The following papers with the break-up as below are to be offered to M.A. Programme (2019-21) only:

a.	Core Compulsory (CC)	40 credits
b.	Core Open (CO)	16 credits
с.	Elective Specialization (ES)	16 credits
d.	Elective Open (EO)	0 credit
e.	Inter-disciplinary Paper (IDP)	8 credits
Total credits		80 credits

2. The BoS discussed and approved the following new courses introduced in the syllabus of M.A. Programme(2020-22) in Political Science unanimously without

any modifications:

- i. POL-407: Political Sociology
- ii. POL-408: Awareness about RTI and Consumer Rights
- iii. POL-415: Women in IR
- iv. POL-418: Gandhian Ideals of Public Life
- v. POL-419: The Concept of Antyodaya
- vi. POL-420:Discourse on Swadeshi
- vii. POL-508: Culture and Politics in India
- viii. POL-510: Indian Administrative System
  - ix. POL-513: Strategic Thought in India: Ancient and Modern
  - x. POL-514:Domestic Sources of India's security Concerns
  - xi. POL-518: Public Opinion in India
- xii. POL-519: Ambedkar and Indian Constitution

- xiii. POL-521: International Organization
- xiv. POL-522:Foreign Policies of US and Russia
- xv. POL-523: Foreign Policies of Emerging Powers: China, India, Brazil, South Africa
- xvi. POL-524:International Political Economy
- xvii. POL-525: Defence and Strategic Issues in India
- xviii. POL-526: Emerging Trends in Arms Control and Disarmament
- xix. POL- 530: Federalism in India
- The BoS discussed and approved the following new courses introduced in the Ph.D. Course Work in Political Science unanimously without any modifications:
  - i. POL-615: Public Administration
  - ii. POL-616:International Political Economy
  - iii. POL-617:India and South Asian Politics
  - iv. POL-618:India and Southeast Asia
  - v. POL-619:India and Central Asia
  - vi. POL-620:India and West Asia
  - vii. POL-621: India and Africa
- 4. The BoS discussed and approved the following courses offered under the certificate course on 'Understanding the Contemporary Relevance of Kautilya's Arthashastra', \_\_\_\_\_\_ in the Department, unanimously without any modifications:
  - i. POL-300: Kautilya's Arthashastra: Context and Relevance
  - ii. POL-301: Kautilya's Arthashastra: Diplomacy and Implementation.
- The BoS agreed to restore the name of the Department as 'Department of Political Science and International Relations'as mentioned in the first BoS Meeting held on30 August 2018.
- 6. The BoS unanimously agreed that while choosing Elective Specialization the earlier clause stating, 'Elective Specialization shall only be offered if minimum 10 students have opted for it" underlined in the first BoS meeting held on 30 August 2018 will no longer apply in the M.A programme (2020-22)

The meeting concluded with a Vote of Thanks by Dr. Jagmeet Bawa, Head, Department of Political Science.

The aforementioned suggestions made by the distinguished members of the BoS at the meeting have been incorporated in the revised syllabus.

(Jagmeet Bawa) lyker.

(Pawan Kr. Sharma)

(Narayan Singh Rao)

Sembhati Shares

(Arundhati Sharma)

dhana Singh

(Sanjay Kumar) (Vimal Kr. Kashyap)

